Basal Cell skin Cancer (BCC) and Alkaline Diet

• Discussion
  •  Foodary Feedback #764

Thanks. I’m happy to know my red wine is all right for an alkaline diet. I am just learning about it and am finding that I actually eat alkaline naturally. I was just worried about wine.

I have recurring basal cell skin cancer that concerns me, and thought maybe being strictly alkaline might help.

Bummer about bacon 😥

[Posted via Feedback Form. But note that form is mainly for non-urgent suggestions about improving Foodary information. So if you need personal replies you should Start a new Healthy Eating Forum Topic. Or join an existing discussion that matches your question.]

Diet and basal cell skin cancer
    Can diet help and basal cell skin cancer?
  •  Keith Taylor #775
    Ŧallars: Ŧ 1,194.58

Thank you for your feedback.

I’m sorry to hear about your skin cancer problems. Unfortunately, I can’t find any evidence to suggest that alkaline diet has any benefits. Since most studies I’ve found are more related to environmental issues such as:

• Ultraviolet radiation
    • Photosensitizing drugs
    • Ionizing radiation
    • Chemicals
    • Smoking
    • Human papillomaviruses
    • Systemic immunosuppression

That list is from:
    Verkouteren, J. A. C., K. H. R. Ramdas, Marlies Wakkee, and Tamar Nijsten. “Epidemiology of basal cell carcinoma: scholarly review.” British Journal of Dermatology 177, no. 2 (2017): 359-372.
    Which also states the evidence for dietary factors is inconsistent and inconclusive.

However, another report lists dietary factors that might be useful targets for further research:
    Payette, Michael J., James Whalen, and Jane M. Grant-Kels. “Nutrition and nonmelanoma skin cancers.” Clinics in dermatology 28, no. 6 (2010): 650-662.
    Which lists a number of potentials: Less fat, folate, and metals (copper, iron, zinc); more Vitamin A, C, and E, selenium, and green tea.

More recently, there’s potential good news in a 2008 nutrition study: